I Love America. I really do.

August 27, 2008

Michelle Obama gave her widely anticipated lecture – I mean speech – last night at the Democratic Coronation Ceremony.

Mrs. Obama said, “You see instead of going to Wall Street, Barack had gone to work in neighborhoods devastated when steel plants shut down, and jobs dried up. And he’d been invited back to speak to people from those neighborhoods about how to rebuild their community.”

In all seriousness, how the hell would Obama know? Good grief.

And speaking of not going to Wall Street, Mrs. Obama said later, “And in my own life, in my own small way, I’ve tried to give back to this country that has given me so much. That’s why I left a job at a law firm for a career in public service, working to empower young people to volunteer in their communities. Because I believe that each of us — no matter what our age or background or walk of life — each of us has something to contribute to the life of this nation.”

How do they continue to get away with this nonsense about foregoing and leaving these high-paying jobs? They made over $4 million last year. If that’s what public service pays, where do I sign up?

Finally, Mrs. Obama spoke movingly of her parents, who sacrificed so that she and her brother would have advantages that they didn’t. She spoke similarly of Barack’s upbringing – his being raised “by a single mother who struggled to pay the bills” – and that anything is possible in this great country.

But after praising the opportunity America offers to those who work hard, Mrs. Obama – and all Democrats – encourages us to vote for Barack because…he will lead a government that takes care of us all.

How inspiring.

3 Responses to “I Love America. I really do.”

  1. help2 Says:

    As Opposed to the Clintion’s multi-millions or McCain’s multi-multi millions? Get Real!


  2. […] 30, 2008 As I alluded to below, the theme of the Democratic convention was, the American Dream is dying and can be revived only by […]


  3. […] 30, 2008 As I alluded to below, the theme of the Democratic convention was, the American Dream is dying and can be revived only by […]


Leave a Reply

